top of page
Winner: hyunil oh and keunbo yang: art tent

2010 TOGS 3 Competition Announces Winning Entries

Art Alliance Austin, in partnership with AIA-Austin and Austin Foundation for Architecture, announced the winners of the Temporary Outdoor Gallery Space 3 (TOGS 3) competition in 2010.

The objective of the competition is to enhance the global dialogue between art and architecture while offering emerging professionals in the fields of architecture and design the opportunity to garner international attention. TOGS 3 seeks to generate innovative proposals for a temporary outdoor structure that will function simultaneously as an exhibition space and as an architectural exhibition.

Through a juried process with 177 entries submitted from 20 countries, these 15 proposals have been selected as top entries:

First Place - Art Tent by Hyunil Oh, New York, NY, USA. Team: Keunbo Yang. Art Tent is designed to sympathize with neighboring surroundings. As an object, the exterior surface communicates with nature and urban context while the interior surface is intended to communicate with people passing by. The tent structure seeks lightness and can be constructed through pre-fabrication methods for simple installation.

Second Place - The Cloud by Joshua Beck, Los Angeles, CA, USA. The Cloud is a temporary portable outdoor exhibition space made from 600 helium filled balloons. The Cloud is a unique urban activator as it appears to hover above terra firma. To emphasize its gravity defying abilities one enters the cloud via a ramp on the backside. A multitude of art media could be exhibited in the interior of the 10’ x 20’ x 12’ elliptical space.

Third Place - Transparence by Tetsuo Kondo, Shinagawa-Ku, Tokyo, Japan. Closely connected with ambient surroundings and art exhibitions, the structure is constructed of acrylic bars that reflect the exhibitions which are then projected onto the elevation. Side views are transparent as if it was air.

Remaining top entries:

  • Sung Goo Yang from Boston, MA US

  • Jessica Martin & Alexandria Vann from Charlotte, NC US

  • Ross Vogel & Rocksand Ham from Charlotte, NC US

  • Yo Oshima from Los Angeles, CA US

  • Rebecca Necessary & David Birge from Raleigh, NC US

  • Erin Keith & John Wheeler from Philadelphia, PA US

  • William Boden from Austin, TX US

  • Donguk Lee from Seoul South Korea

  • Ming Tang & Jonathon Anderson from Savannah, GA US

  • Dominique Cheng from Toronto, ON CA

  • Reynaldo Cedillos & Ery Yakushijin from Austin, TX US

  • Dave Kwon & Eric Tse from New York, NY US

2010 Confirmed jurors include Dana Friis-Hansen, Executive Director of the Austin Museum of Art; Louise Harpman, Assoc. AIA, Associate Professor of Architecture, the University of Texas at Austin and co-founder of Specht Harpman; Megan Crigger, Public Art Administrator, City of Austin Art in Public Places, Sarah W. Newbery, RA and Lois Weinthal.


bottom of page